2017 Battle of the Books

In 2017, the Battle of the Books Grand Traverse doubled the number of teams participating.
Ultimately 48 teams -- over 260 readers -- participated with 13 area schools represented.

Of the ten book titles, some especially popular choices among the readers
were Small Steps, The False Prince, and Roller Girl.

Gordon Korman, author of over 80 books for kids, created a humorous finale -- sharing the inspiration for
many of his most popular books. Gordon gave out the awards, responded to dozens of lively questions from
battle participants, and finally signed books.


Winning Team: Mixed Up Minds

  • Adriana Bragg-Perez
  • Leland Brown
  • Ella Peck
  • Madeline Rowney
  • Casey Vaughn
  • Esme White

Coach: Joann Brown


Runner-Up Team: Novel Girls

  • Ella DeBruyn
  • Molly DeBruyn
  • Emery Luyt
  • Kristen May
  • Evelyn Schlomer
  • Avery Sill

Coach: Jill Sill

 Semi-Finalist Teams

The Bookie Monsters: Ivy Coe, Katy Haag, Margot Hagerty, Eva Lawson,
Mackenzie Lewis-Childree, and Summer Williams with Coach Enid Hagerty

The Seis SAQJAE Psychos: Seamus Dye, Emerson Hammersley, Asher Paul, Alexander Reynolds,
Jace Rowell, and Quinn Waddle with Coach Madigan.

Team Awards

  • Most Creative Team Name ~ We Play Hardcover
  • Best Poster and Slogan ~ The Book Bugs “We eat through the pages”
  • Best Sportsmanship ~ The Grammar Cops
  • Team Spirit ~ Bibliomaniacs
  • Kraken Award for Special Achievement ~ Nerd Herd





Special thanks to Hagerty, Leadstar, eFulfillment Service, Sera & Richard Thompson,
and Traverse Area District Library.